mostoutstanding alumni

In celebration of its Sesquicentennial (150) Founding Anniversary, Don Honorio Ventura Technological State University or DHVTSU conferred the Outstanding Alumni distinctions to nine graduates who have excelled in their respective fields of specialization during the Grand Alumni Homecoming held on December 10, 2011 at the DHVTSU Gymnasium.

The Committee on the Search for the Outstanding Alumni, chaired by Dr. Laura Miriam B. Buenviaje, selected the awardees in various fields of specialization such as Leadership Empowerment in Education, Entrepreneurship and Employment Creation, Corporate Social Responsibility, Women Empowerment, Arts and Culture, Public Service, Poverty Alleviation and Human Development, and Science and Technology.

Dr. Ernesto T. Nicdao, former DHVCAT president and awardee for Leadership Empowerment in Education, said he will treasure the distinction throughout his life because it was given by the institution he served for almost 21 years.

The awardees were chosen following a nomination system, and were judged based on the following traits: must be recognized by his/her professional peers in his/her chosen career; must be involved in civic affairs that contribute to the improvement of the lives of other people; must be a role model for the DHVTSU students; and has achieved national, regional or local prominence in his/her profession.

The Committee on the Search for the Outstanding Alumni is composed of its chair, Dr. Laura Miriam B. Buenviaje, and co-chaired by Engr. Reden M. Hernandez. Committee members include Atty. Roseller T. Logronio, Dr. Esperanza F. Salinas, Dr. Yolanda E. Crisostomo, Mr. Mario I. Salamat II, and Mrs. Mirla C. Salonga.


Mr. Eduardo G. Datu
Outstanding Alumnus in Public Service

Engr. Ferdinand P. Labung
Outstanding Alumnus in Science and Technology (Civil Engineering)

Dr. Ernesto T. Nicdao
Outstanding Alumnus in Leadership Empowerment in Education

Mrs. Myrna C. Bituin
Outstanding Alumna in Entrepreneurship and Employment Creation

Arch. Rene B. Nuqui
Outstanding Alumnus in Science and Technology (Architecture)

Mr. Alvaro M. Jimenez
Outstanding Alumnus in Arts and Culture (Visual Arts)

Mr. Domingo P. Nacpil
Outstanding Alumnus in Poverty Alleviation and Human Development

Hon. Monina Laus
Outstanding Alumna in Women Empowerment

Dr. Lourdes M. Javier
Outstanding Alumna in Corporate Social Responsibility


Connect with us at alumniDHVTSU Alumni